Award Categories

Community Engagement Award

Businesses play a significant role in the community, and many firms consider it important to contribute to their local supporters through charity work, and helping schools, colleges and community groups. This award aims to recognise local businesses who have taken the time to give something back.

Business Continuity Award (Hospitality Sector)

This award is open to the Hospitality Sector (eg Public Houses) who have found an innovative way to continue to deliver its services during lockdown

Place to Eat and/or Drink

Restaurants, takeaways - all have a chance to be nominated in this category. We're looking for a worthy eatery providing great customer service from a quality environment with, of course, consistently fine food. Have fun making your choices!

Retailer of the Year

An award for the retail business that can best demonstrate strong growth, an innovative approach to customer and employee relations together with creativity to enhance sales. This category is open to local independent retailers and to local units of national chains providing they can show how they have impacted on the local community and economy.

Small Business (up to 25 employees)

This award is open to all businesses with upto 25 employees that can demonstrate exceptional performance, growth and market leadership.

Large Business (25 + employees)

The winner will have a well-deserved excellent reputation in the community, a record of innovative measures to enhance employee relations and demonstrate a commitment to never fail to deliver on its promises and to meet - and exceed - customer expectations.


The winner - either a company or an individual - will demonstrate an exceptional ability to think outside the box, whether it is discovering better ways to work, discovering a ground-breaking product, or showing outstanding marketing abilities.

Manufacturing & Construction

An award to a company that has best demonstrated exceptional financial returns, innovation, strong growth and market leadership in the field of manufacturing and/or construction.

Customer Service

Award for a company who exceeds customer expectations in its service. Customer service is an essential part of any successful business . This award aims to reward and recognise a company, individual, or team, for their outstanding achievement in providing exceptional customer service.

Professional Services

This category seeks to recognise the qualified professionals, those who have gained a level of skill or competence in a particular field of work, those that have received 'chartered' qualifications. The judges will looking for excellence in the delivery of these services, along with evidence of an operator, or individual, which sets it aside from the crowd.

Employee/Team of the Year

An award for an exceptional individual/team whose efforts and determination has made an exceptional contribution to a business resulting in a positive gain for the organisation.

Training & Development

Sponsored by
Training and employee development are the keys to business success. The winner of this category will have demonstrated real commitment to developing and motivating their workforce. This category is open to businesses which have an exemplary training programme for their employees, or training providers - whichever you are, the judges will be looking for evidence that your training programmes work!

Green Business

An award for a business or organisation, irrespective of its size or sector, who can demonstrate environmental awareness and responsibility in all aspects of its work and output.

Lifetime Achievement

This is an award to an individual who, in the opinion of the judges, has demonstrated an unrivalled record of achievement in the area for many years, showing outstanding performance within their industry, a commitment towards their staff and who demands - and delivers - exceptional customer service.

Overall Business of the Year

(The winner will be chosen by the independent judging panel and cannot be entered) This prestigious award will be given by the judges to one of the winners from the previous business categories above. The company that carries off this award will be chosen on the basis of being the best business that has most impressed the judges, that do the best for their clients, staff and the community. This category is chosen by the judges as an overall award and cannot be entered.